This class made me want to not even apply to the photography department. Watching a girl balance on a chair on the back of a truck for four minutes will do that for you.
When i showed up for the class on the first day our professer told us a few things:
-why yes this is a project class but you won't be doing any projects
-why no you will not have any darkroom time
-instead, you'll watch films and look at photographs from other students
-just react to the pieces
-...yea, you'll just have to write on a topic for twenty minutes at the beginning of each class
-...no there's no right or wrong answer
Which i guess is alright, because i got an A just for showing up to take an hour long nap.
I felt like most of the grad students who showed work to our class were very pretentious about work the majority of them didn't seem to apply meaning to, which made me want to rethink the photography program at vcu, i understand the argument of art for art's sake in instances where the art is aesthetically pleasing, but when a work is poorly crafted, boring, and goes nowhere, i feel like it's a cop out to hide behind the idea that the poor craft is intentional, it's boring to passive aggressively attack art that actually does have meaning, and the fact that it has no substance makes it video art and not cinema. I find i now have more respect for the cinema program, even though it's supposed to be more practical, because despite the fact that the work that comes out of it is sometimes less artistic, it's more refined polished and has a point, and frankly, i don't see how those attributes have negative connotations when it comes to creating art.
Thursday, December 6, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
hahaha I NEVER got to see a girl balance a chair on the back of a truck! but yeaaa i feel the same. im relaly rethinking the photo program
That's a shame that the project course seemed to suck so bad. I've heard a LOT of people say how bad it was. I wonder to what extent it actually represents the whole photography program?
Post a Comment